Munich Center for
Technology in Society

The Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS) is an Integrative Research Center at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). As one of the most prominent centers for Science and Technology Studies (STS) in Germany, it is dedicated to understanding and reflexively shaping the multiple interactions between science, technology and society.

About the MCTS

Events

News

News

For a better understanding and shaping of the technosocial society

Empirical

Whether investigating social robotics, urban mobility, or renewables – our research is empirical, and we base our teaching, outreach, and consultation on empirical research.

Interdisciplinary

 Whether exploring biotechnology, social media, or nanomaterials – we take an interdisciplinary approach. Based on empirical research, our teaching addresses the opportunities and problems of interdisciplinary research, publishing and communication.

Reflexive

Whether looking at sustainable water management, self-driving vehicles, or the consequences of controversial technical expertise – we explore each topic with regard to two questions: What are the potential positive or negative consequences of creating this new knowledge or developing this new technology?

Dialogic

Whether the topic is citizen science, social neuroscience, or information technologies – we develop custom-made strategies to bring our research to the public, as well as to policymakers and business stakeholders. We also offer research-based consulting.

The MCTS

Research Groups

Learn more about the research at the MCTS

Academic Programs

Multidisciplinary and research-based – studying at MCTS

Doctoral Program

Doctorate at the MCTS

People

The people behind the MCTS

Munich Center for
Technology in Society

Das Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS) ist ein Integrative Research Center der Technischen Universität München. Als eines der bedeutendsten Zentren für Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung in Deutschland zielt es darauf ab, die vielfältigen Wechselwirkungen von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Gesellschaft zu verstehen und zu gestalten.

Über das MCTS

Events

News

News

Die Technosoziale Gesellschaft besser verstehen und gestalten

Empirisch

Ob soziale Robotik, urbane Mobilität oder Energiewende – wir forschen empirisch und gründen Lehre, Dialog und Beratung auf empirischer Forschung.

Interdisziplinär

 Ob Biotechnologie, soziale Medien oder Nanomaterialien – wir arbeiten interdisziplinär, und lehren auf der Basis von empirischer Forschung, was die Chancen und Probleme interdisziplinären Forschens, Publizierens und Miteinander Kommunizierens sind.

Reflexiv

Ob nachhaltige Wasserwirtschaft, automatisiertes Fahren oder die Effekte kontroversen technischen Wissens – jeder Gegenstand interessiert in beide Rich­tungen: Welches sind die erwarteten positiven oder negativen Folgen?

Dialogisch

Ob Citizen Science, soziale Neurowissenschaft oder Informations­technologien – wir versuchen auf geeignete Weise, mit der Öffentlichkeit, der Politik und mit Unternehmen in den Dialog zu treten und bieten forschungsbasierte Beratung an.

Das MCTS

Arbeitsgruppen

Erfahren Sie mehr zur technowissenschaftlichen Forschung am MCTS

Studium

Multidisziplinär und forschungsbasiert – ein Studium am MCTS

Promotion

Promovieren am MCTS

Personen

Die Menschen hinter dem MCTS