Sociology of Science

“Schiedel-Exchange on TechnoSociety” – event series wrapped-up in a magazine

As part of the event series „Schiedel-Exchange on TechnoSociety“ we provide insights into the topics and activities of the Friedrich Schiedel Chair for a broad audience twice a year. Both scientific experts and interested citizens can take the opportunity for stimulating discussions about the interaction between society and technology.

The kick-off event took place on 8 May 2017 under the slogan “TechnoSociety? TechnoSociety!“. A mix of short lectures and poster talks was offered – supported by “TechnoArt” and “TechnoMusic”.

Since our initial event on the subject of “TechnoFood?! The future of nutrition between nature and technology“, the series is supplemented by an innovative science magazine on the thematic focus of the respective event. It is entitled “Schiedel-Exchange – News from TechnoSociety” [link to the downloads of the magazine] and goes beyond classical scientific publications: A changing editorial team prepares controversial topics from science, technology and society – photos, interviews and essays highlight individual thematic aspects and are intended to inspire reflection. The magazine also provides space for high-level researchers to discuss issues beyond institutional boundaries.

In addition, we also endeavour to bring our events to locations that are thematically appropriate in each case. The Schiedel-Exchange on “RobotCare: The future of care between man and machine” took place in the “Damenstift” at Luitpoldpark, a care home for elderly women in Munich. Our event on “DIGI[tal_edu]CATION” on 7 July 2019 took place at the Gymnasium Ottobrunn (near Munich).

The next Schiedel-Exchange on “Future Work – sustainable, agile, participatory?” (03.Feb.2020) will discuss how new demands and tensions on the future of work are debated, negotiated and realized.

EVENTS “SCHIEDEL-EXCHANGE ON TECHNOSOCIETY”:

The TechnoSociety is faced with a profound transformation that is also affecting our world of work. Work is supposed to become sustainable, agile and participatory. Yet, these prospects come along with many ambivalences and tensions.

It is against this background that our upcoming SchiedelExchange invites experts from the academic field, the industry and trade unions to discuss how new demands and tensions are debated, negotiated and realized. We raise questions about the challenges, potentials and visions of our future work.

Invited experts:

  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Pfeiffer, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Sociology of Work)
  • Welf Schröter, Forum Soziale Technikgestaltung (Participation and Workplace Technology)

Invited experts

  • Prof. Dr. Uta Hauck-Thum, LMU München (Education Primary School)
  • Achim Lebert, OStD, Schulleiter Gymnasium Ottobrunn (Education Secondary School)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz-Werner Wollersheim, Universität Leipzig (Education University)

Event Flyer

Invited experts

  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Mauser, LMU (Geographie)
  • Dr. Martin Langer, TUM (Raumfahrttechnik)
  • Dr. Robert Axmann, DLR (Datenwissenschaft)
  • Dr. Friederike Klan, DLR (Bürgerwissenschaft)

Event Flyer

Invited experts

  • Prof. Dr. Johanna Seibt, Aarhus University (Philosophy)
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Hülsken-Giesler, Philosophical-Theological University Vallendar (Nursing Science)
  • Birte Carlmeyer, University of Bielefeld (Robotics)

Event Flyer

Invited experts

  • Prof. Dr. Hannelore Daniel, TU Munich (Nutrition Science)
  • Prof. Dr. Paula Villa, LMU Munich (Empirical Social Research on Nutrition)
  • Dr. Daniel Kofahl, APEK – Office for Agricultural Policy and Food Culture Trier (Consultant)

Event Flyer

Wissenschaftssoziologie

Veranstaltungsreihe und Magazin „Schiedel-Exchange on TechnoSociety“

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe „Schiedel-Exchange on TechnoSociety“ geben wir zweimal im Jahr für ein breites Publikum Einblicke in die Themen und Aktivitäten des Friedrich Schiedel-Lehrstuhls. Sowohl das interessierte wissenschaftliche Fachpublikum als auch interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger nutzen jeweils die Gelegenheit für anregende Gespräche über das Wechselverhältnis von Gesellschaft und Technik.

Die Auftaktveranstaltung fand am 8. Mai 2017 unter dem Motto „TechnoSociety? TechnoSociety!“ statt. Es wurden Kurzvorträge geboten – unterstützt durch „TechnoArt“ und „TechnoMusic“.

Seit der Veranstaltung zum Thema TechnoFood?! Die Zukunft der Ernährung zwischen Natur und Technik“ wird die Reihe mit der Herausgabe eines innovativen Wissenschaftsmagazins zum thematischen Schwerpunkt der jeweiligen Veranstaltung ergänzt. Dieses trägt den Titel „Schiedel-Exchange – Neues aus der TechnoSociety“ und zeichnet sich durch ein Konzept aus, das über klassische wissenschaftliche Publikationen hinausgeht: Eine wechselnde Redaktion bereitet kontroverse Themen aus Wissenschaft, Technik und Gesellschaft auf – Fotos, Interviews und Essays werfen Schlaglichter auf einzelne thematische Aspekte und sollen zum Nachdenken anregen. Das Magazin gibt auch der Diskussion von hochrangigen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern über institutionelle Grenzen hinweg Raum.

Darüber hinaus sind wir auch bestrebt, unsere Veranstaltungen an jeweils thematisch passende Locations zu bringen. So fand die Veranstaltung zum Thema RobotCare: Zukunft der Pflege zwischen Mensch und Maschine“ des „Schiedel-Exchange“ im Damenstift am Luitpoldpark in München statt. Veranstaltungsort von „DIGI[tal_edu]CATION“ am 7. Juli 2019 war das Gymnasium Ottobrunn (bei München).

Auch die nächste Veranstaltung zu “Future Work – nachhaltig, agil, partizipativ?” wird wieder an einem Ort außerhalb der Universität stattfinden. Im Rahmen dieses interaktiven Events erfolgt eine Auseinandersetzung mit aktuellen Entwicklungen unserer Arbeitswelt. Der Veranstaltungsort wird bald bekanntgegeben.

Veranstaltungen „Schiedel-Exchange on TechnoSociety“:

In der TechnoSociety vollziehen sich aktuell tiefgreifende Veränderungen, die auch unsere Arbeitswelt betreffen. Die Arbeit soll u.a. nachhaltig, agil und partizipativ werden. Diese Entwicklungen gehen allerdings mit Ambivalenzen und Spannungen einher.

Gemeinsam mit Expert*innen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gewerkschaften diskutieren wir auf dem kommenden SchiedelExchange, wie diese Ansprüche und Spannungen verhandelt und ausgestaltet werden. Wir fragen nach Herausforderungen, Chancen und Visionen für die Arbeit der Zukunft.

Eingeladene Expertinnen und Experten:

  • Michaela Kotscherwa (Mitgründerin und Media Director, LEMIEL GmbH)
  • Thomas Krüer (Leiter Human Ressources, LV 1871)
  • Dr. Stefan Sauer (FAU Nürnberg-Erlangen, Lehrstuhl für Soziologie)

Dabei? Super! Bitte zur Anmeldung kurze Email an wissenschaftssoziologie@gov.tum.de senden. Vielen Dank!

Event Flyer

Eingeladene Expertinnen und Experten

  • Prof. Dr. Uta Hauck-Thum, LMU München (Bildung Grundschule)
  • Achim Lebert, OStD, Schulleiter Gymnasium Ottobrunn (Bildung Gymnasium)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz-Werner Wollersheim, Universität Leipzig (Bildung Hochschule)

Event Flyer

Eingeladene Expertinnen und Experten

  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Mauser, LMU München (Geographie und Fernerkundung)
  • Dr. Martin Langer, TU München (Raumfahrttechnik)
  • Dr. Robert Axmann, DLR Jena (Datenwissenschaft)
  • Dr. Friederike Klan, DLR Jena (Bürgerforschung)

Event Flyer

Eingeladene Expertinnen und Experten

  • Prof. Dr. Johanna Seibt, Aarhus University (Philosophie)
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Hülsken-Giesler, Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Vallendar (Pflegewissenschaft)
  • Birte Carlmeyer, Universität Bielefeld (Robotik)

Event Flyer

Eingeladene Expertinnen und Experten

  • Prof. Dr. Hannelore Daniel, TU München (Ernährungswissenschaft)
  • Prof. Dr. Paula Villa, LMU München (Empirische Sozialforschung zu Ernährung)
  • Dr. Daniel Kofahl, APEK – Büro für Agrarpolitik und Ernährungskultur Trier

Event Flyer