Sociology of Science

Exploring TechnoSociety

Our observation: Society and technology have entered into an extremely dynamic, reciprocal relationship. Be it the workplace, food, politics or science itself, information and neuro technologies, robotics and social media are just a few examples for technologies, which challenge our society. However, at the same time society challenges technology: Digital media encourage participatory politics and citizen science; industry relies on open, networked production; activists demand technology that is both innovative and sustainable; students want responsible research, which is not only excellent but also relevant.

Our hypothesis: We live in a technologised knowledge society through and through. Such a society does not only react to this dynamic, reciprocal relationship. Rather, we actively engage into its design through so-called “networks of socio-technical innovation”

  • More and more actors (researchers, politicians, citizens, activists, users, entrepreneurs …) and organisations (universities, administrations, NGOs, fab labs, companies …) are engaged in concrete technological developments, which interconnect machines, lifeworlds and databases, algorithms and practices within innovative networks
  • They consider very different goals and values (progress, responsibility, social justice, ecological efficiency, finding the truth, profitability, participation …)
  • and generate new forms of regulation: in politics (e.g., “Open Governance”), in the economy (e.g., “Green Economy”), in academia (e.g., “Open Science”) and in technology (e.g., “Open Innovation”)

Our task: This dynamism and diversity of socio-technical activities of innovation requires a new perspective from the sociology of science

  • … on the members of TechnoSociety (individual, collective, organised): What effects does assistive robotics have on patients, on careworkers’ training, on the architecture of hospitals – and vice versa?
  • … on the modes, which despite all dynamism establish sufficiently stable societal relations: What novel forms of governance emerge in current projects of technology, such as, the energy transition or autonomous driving?
  • … on science itself, which must operate now under socio-technical conditions: What effects do these have on research, which has to navigate between competition and cooperation, and which has to adjust itself to the task of innovation within technological development

Our methods: We mainly work with explorative methods (e.g., participatory observation, video analysis) as well as in interdisciplinary teams. In doing so, we see ourselves not only as distanced observers but also as engaged, critical members of society. Our attention focuses on the details and circumstances, on the material and the imaginary, the diversity of perspectives and a courageous diagnosis.

Fast Facts

2013
Year of foundation
15
Researchers
5
Projects

Events

News

News

Wissenschaftssoziologie

Exploring TechnoSociety

Unsere Beobachtung: Gesellschaft und Technik stehen derzeit in einem über­aus dynamischen Wechselverhältnis. Ob Arbeitswelt, Ernährung, Politik oder Wissenschaft selbst: Informations- und Neurotechnologien, Robotik und Soziale Medien sind nur wenige Beispiele für Technologien, die unsere Gesellschaft her­ausfordern. Zugleich aber fordert die Gesellschaft auch sie heraus: Digitale Medien regen zu partizipativer Politik und Bürgerwissenschaft an; die Industrie setzt auf offene, vernetzte Produkte; Aktivisten fordern Technologien, die ebenso innovativ wie nachhaltig sind; Studierende wollen verantwortliche Wissenschaft, die nicht nur exzellent, sondern auch relevant ist.

Unsere These:
Wir leben in einer durch und durch technisierten Wissensgesell­schaft. Charakteristisch für diese Gesellschaft ist, dass wir auf diese Wechselver­hältnisse nicht einfach nur reagieren. Wir arbeiten an ihrer Gestaltung mit, und zwar in sogenannten „Netzwerken sozio-technischer Innovationen“:

  • Immer mehr Akteurinnen (Forschende, Politikerinnen, Bürger, Aktivist, Nutzer, Unterneh­mer …) und Organisationen (Universitäten, Verwaltungen, Nichtregierungsorga­nisationen, Fab Labs, Unternehmen …) sind an konkreten Technologieentwick­lungen beteiligt, die Menschen und Maschinen, Lebenswelten und Datenbanken, Algorithmen und Praktiken zu innovativen Netzwerken verbinden.
  • Sie berücksichtigen dabei ganz verschiedene Ziele und Werte (Fortschritt, Verantwortung, soziale Gerechtigkeit, ökologische Effizienz, Wahrheitsfindung, Profitabilität, Teilhabe …)
  • und bringen neue Formen der Regulierung hervor: in der Politik (z.B. „Open Governance“), in der Wirtschaft (z.B. „Green Economy“), in der Wissenschaft (z.B. „Open Science“) sowie in der Technikentwicklung (z.B. „Open Innovation“).

Unsere Aufgabe:
Diese Dynamik und Vielgestaltigkeit sozio-technischer Innova­tionstätigkeit verlangt auch von der Wissenschaftssoziologie einen neuen Blick:

  • … auf die Mitglieder dieser TechnoSociety (einzelne, kollektive, organisierte): Welche Effekte hat etwa die Assistenzrobotik auf Patientinnen, auf Pflegeausbil­dung, auf die Architektur von Krankenhäusern – und vice versa?
  • … auf die Weisen, die trotz aller Dynamik hinreichend stabile gesellschaftliche Verhältnissen erzeugen: Welche neuen Formen der Governance entstehen in aktuellen Technologieprojekten wie der Energiewende oder dem autonomen Fahren?
  • … auf die Wissenschaft selbst, die nun unter diesen sozio-technischen Bedingungen operieren muss: Welche Effekte hat dies auf Forschung, die sich zwischen Konkurrenz und Kooperation zurechtfinden und hinsichtlich der Tech­nikentwicklung auf Innovation einstellen muss?

Unsere Methoden: Wir arbeiten mit überwiegend explorativen Methoden (z.B. teilnehmender Beobachtung, Videoanalyse) sowie oft in interdisziplinären Teams. Wir verstehen uns dabei nicht nur als distanzierte Beobachter, sondern auch als engagierte, kritische Mitglieder dieser Gesellschaft. Unsere Aufmerksam­keit gilt dem Detail und den Umständen, dem Materiellen und dem Imaginierten, der Verschiedenheit der Perspektiven und der mutigen Diagnose.

Fast Facts

2013
Jahr der Gründung
15
Forschende
5
Projekte

Events

News

News