Dr. Benjamin Lipp

Postdoc

Sociology of Science

Studied sociology, economics and criminology at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich. Since December 2013, scientific associate at the Friedrich Schiedel Endowed Chair of Sociology of Science. Since October 2014, doctoral candidate at the Integrative Graduate Center TechnoScienceStudies where he writes his PhD thesis on social robotics and elderly care.

Since Aug 2018 part of the research project „SCALINGS – Scaling up Co-Creation: Avenues and Limits for integrating Society in Science and Innovation”, funded by the European Commission within Horizon2020

  • Social robotics
  • ICTs and elderly care
  • (European) Innovation politics
  • Analytics of Interfacing
  • New materialisms
  • Discourse analysis, ethnography & video analysis
  • Lipp, Benjamin (2019): Interfacing RobotCare. On the Techno-Politics of Innovation. Doctoral thesis. Technische Universität München, München. Munich Center for Technology in Society.
  • Lipp, Benjamin (2020): Genealogie der RoboterPflege. Zur politischen Rationalität des europäischen Innovationsdispositivs. In Arne Maibaum, Jannis Hergesell (Eds.): Genese und Folgen der Pflegerobotik. Weinheim: Beltz Juventa.
  • Lipp, Benjamin; Maasen, Sabine (2019): Roboter in der Pflege als sozio-technisches Verschaltungsproblem. Theoretische Angebote der Technikforschung an die Pflege(wissenschaft). In Pflege & Gesellschaft 24 (3), pp. 206–218.

Teaching areas:

  • Science and Technology Studies
  • Sociology of care
  • Sociology of robotics
  • Reflexivity and responsibility in STEM education for Neuro-Engineering

Current courses:

Mandatory and elective module within the Elite MA programme “Neuro-Engineering” (since winter semester 16/17)

  • Mandatory module “Societal Impacts and Ethics of Neuro-Technologies” (winter semester)
    In the past two decades the neurosciences have advanced in both the understanding of the brain and the translation of such knowledge into novel technologies, therapies and medical drugs. Consequently, the engineering of brain-related technologies is perceived as having increasing social and ethical implications. In this course, students learn about methods and concepts for a critical and responsible practice in neuro-engineering.
  • Elective module “Prototyping Neuro-Technologies for Society” (summer semester)
    How will neuro-technologies transform our society in the future? How can we shape this process in a positive way? In this course, students deal with such questions in a critical and reflexive manner. For this, they will not only rely on academic debates and arguments but will become active themselves: They speculate and design societal futures with neuro-technologies by way of science fiction prototypes. In doing so they will explore new possibilities and challenges of neuro-technologies in society. The objective: How can we use social scientific reflection in order to put neuro-engineering into service for a better society?
  • Member of the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST)
  • Member of the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S)
  • Member of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Soziologie (DGS)
  • Member of the Section Sociology of Science and Technology of DGS
  • 2013 LMU researcher’s award for excellent students

Dipl.-Soz. (Univ.) Benjamin Lipp

Doktorand

Wissenschaftssoziologie

Studium der Soziologie, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Kriminologie an der Ludwig Maximilians-Universität München. Seit Dezember 2013 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Friedrich Schiedel-Stiftungslehrstuhl für Wissenschaftssoziologie an der Technischen Universität München. Seit Oktober 2014 promoviert er außerdem im Integrative Graduate Center TechnoScienceStudies zum Thema Sozialrobotik und Altenpflege.

  • Soziale Robotik
  • IKTs und Altenpflege
  • Europäische Innovationspolitik
  • Analytik des Interfacing
  • Neue Materialismen
  • Diskursanalyse, Ethnographie und Videoanalyse
  • Lipp, Benjamin (2017): Analytik des Interfacing. Zur Materialität technologischer Verschaltung in prototypischen Milieus robotisierter Pflege. In: Katharina Hoppe und Benjamin Lipp (Hg.): Neue Materialismen. Behemoth 10 (1).
  • Hoppe, Katharina; Lipp, Benjamin (2016): Experiments with “New Materialisms”. Workshop Report on “Sociology and New Materialisms”. In: EASST Review 36 (1), S. 30–33.
  • Dickel, Sascha; Lipp, Benjamin (2016): Systemtheorie und Technikkritik. In: Kolja Möller und Jasmin Siri (Hg.): Systemtheorie und Gesellschaftskritik. Perspektiven der Kritischen Systemtheorie. Bielefeld: transcript (Sozialtheorie), S. 151–168.
  • Lipp, Benjamin (2014): Wenn Vorlieben zum Leiden werden. Eine soziologische Analyse pädophilen Begehrens im Diskurs sexualmedizinischer Pimärprävention. In: Zeitschrift für Sexualforschung 27 (3), S. 201–219.

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte:

  • Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung
  • Soziologie der Pflege
  • Soziologie der Robotik
  • MINT-Lehre für Reflexivität und Verantwortungsbewusstsein im Neuro-engineering

Aktuelle Lehrveranstaltungen:

Pflicht- und Wahlpflichtmodule im Elite-Masterstudiengang „Neuroengineering“ (seit WiSe 16/17)

  • Pflichtmodul „Gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen und Ethik von Neuro-Technologien“ (Wintersemester)
    Die Neurowissenschaften haben in den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten große Fortschritte gemacht sowohl bezüglich des Verständnisses des menschlichen Gehirns als auch der Übersetzung dieses Wissens in neuartige Technologien und Therapien. Im Zuge dessen wird den Ingenieurswissenschaften in diesem Kontext eine zunehmende gesellschaftliche und ethische Relevanz zugeschrieben. In diesem Kurs lernen Studierende ethische und soziologische Methoden und Konzepte für ein reflexives und verantwortungsvolles Neuro-Engineering.
  • Wahlpflichtmodul „Neuro-Technologien für Gesellschaft gestalten“ (Sommersemester)
    Wie werden Neuro-Technologien in Zukunft unsere Gesellschaft verändern? Und wie lässt sich das positiv gestalten? Diesen Fragen widmen sich die Studierenden in reflexiver und kritischer Weise. Dabei stehen nicht nur akademische Debatten und Argumente im Vordergrund, sondern die Studierenden werden selbst aktiv: Sie spekulieren und entwerfen gesellschaftliche Zukünfte mit Neuro-Technologien mithilfe von Science Fiction Prototypen. Darin erkunden sie neue Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen von Neuro-Technologien in Gesellschaft. Das Ziel: Wie können wir sozialwissenschaftliches Reflexionswissen nutzen, um Neuro-Engineering in den Dienst einer besseren Gesellschaft zu stellen?
  • Mitglied in der European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST)
  • Mitglied in der Society for Social Studies of Science (4S)
  • Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Soziologie (DGS)
  • Mitglied der Sektion Wissenschafts- und Techniksoziologie der DGS
  • 2013: LMU-Forscherpreis für exzellente Studierende