News

MCTS Visiting Professor Peter Asaro

Peter Asaro is Associate Professor at the School of Media Studies at The New School, New York, USA. He is a philosopher of science, technology and media. His work examines artificial intelligence and robotics as a form of digital media, the ethical dimensions of algorithms and data, and the ways in which technology mediates social relations and shapes our experience of the world.

Peter Asaro will be staying at MCTS as Visiting Professor from April 23-26, 2019.

Peter Asaro is Associate Professor at the School of Media Studies at The New School, New York, USA. He is a philosopher of science, technology and media. His work examines artificial intelligence and robotics as a form of digital media, the ethical dimensions of algorithms and data, and the ways in which technology mediates social relations and shapes our experience of the world. (More information at http://www.peterasaro.org/)

On Thursday 25 April, 17:30–19:00, Peter will give a public lecture titled “AI Ethics in Predictive Policing. From Models of Threat to an Ethics of Care”. Location: Vorhölzer Forum, TUM main building, 5th floor. Drinks and snacks served after the talk. The event is hosted by the Digital Media and Engineering Responsibility Labs, and is the second instalment of our AI lecture series. (More information at https://www.mcts.tum.de/event/lecture-series-ai-ethics-in-predictive-policing/)

On Tuesday 23 April, 19:30–21:30, Peter will be commentator to a screening of “War and Games”, together with the film’s director, Karin Jurschick of HFF. Location: MCTS room 270. (More information at https://www.mcts.tum.de/event/war-games-mcts-filmseries-and-filmtalk-with-prof-karin-jurschick-and-peter-asaro/)

Last but not least, Peter will be involved in workshop sessions on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, schedule downloadable here.

Inquiries: hajo.greif@tum.de

Related News in this category

News

MCTS Visiting Professor Peter Asaro

Peter Asaro ist Associate Professor an der School of Media Studies an der New School, New York, USA. Er hat einen Hintergrund in Philosophie und Medienwissenschaften. In seiner Forschungsarbeit untersucht er KI und Robotik als Form digitaler Medien, die ethischen Dimensionen von Algorithmen und Daten sowie die Art und Weise, wie Technologie soziale Beziehungen vermittelt und unsere Erfahrung der Welt prägt.

Peter Asaro hält sich vom 23.-26. April 2019 als Visiting Professor am MCTS auf.

Peter Asaro ist Associate Professor an der School of Media Studies an der New School, New York, USA. Er hat einen Hintergrund in Philosophie und Medienwissenschaften. In seiner Forschungsarbeit untersucht er KI und Robotik als Form digitaler Medien, die ethischen Dimensionen von Algorithmen und Daten sowie die Art und Weise, wie Technologie soziale Beziehungen vermittelt und unsere Erfahrung der Welt prägt. (Mehr information: http://www.peterasaro.org/)

Am Donnerstag, den 25. April, 17:30–19:00 Uhr, wird Peter einen öffentlichen Vortrag halten, unter dem Titel “AI Ethics in Predictive Policing. From Models of Threat to an Ethics of Care”. Ort: Vorhölzer Forum, TUM Hauptgebäude, 5. OG. Getränke und Snacks werden nach dem Vortrag serviert. Der Vortrag wird von den Digital Media und Engineering Responsibility Labs ausgerichtet, und er ist der zweite Teil unserer Vortargsreihe zur KI. (Mehr information: https://www.mcts.tum.de/event/lecture-series-ai-ethics-in-predictive-policing/)

Am Dienstag, den 23. April, 19:30–21:30 Uhr, wird Peter als Kommentator des Films “War and Games” auftreten, gemeinsam mit der Regisseurin, Karin Jurschick (HFF). Ort: MCTS, Raum 270. (Mehr information: https://www.mcts.tum.de/event/war-games-mcts-filmseries-and-filmtalk-with-prof-karin-jurschick-and-peter-asaro/)

Des weiteren wird Peter für Workshop-Sitzungen am Mittwoch, Donnerstag und Freitag zur Verfügung stehen, Ablaufplan hier.

Weitere Informationen: hajo.greif@tum.de

Related News in this category