Post/Doc Lab Digital Media

Digital Media Lab

Welcome to the Digital Media Lab! Our Post/Doc Lab at the Munich Center for Technology in Society integrates approaches from science and technology studies, computer science, sociology, philosophy of science, and media studies. Our aim is to theoretically and empirically investigate digitalization processes in various domains of society, to provide expertise and scientific support for initiatives and projects on digitalization, and to explore alternative ways of making these processes more democratic and responsible.

We investigate digitalization through the lens of material and relational approaches and understand it as a permanent entanglement of different actors, practices, technologies, regulations and cultures. By applying a wide variety of qualitative methods, including ethnographic approaches, code analysis and mappings, we examine various topics along the thematic axes of infrastructure, control and creativity:

First, we investigate digitalization in terms of infrastructures and look at how numerous different local sites and practices are integrated into large technological systems. Current research projects focus on European public broadcasting platforms and European migration and border management.

Second, we explore digitalized modes of governance, control and resistance. Current research projects focus on algorithmic accountability and epistemic transparency in artificial intelligence (AI), predictive analytics and policing, and data protection and privacy in the age of big data.

Third, we analyze the unfolding of new modes of creativity through engagement with digital technologies. Current research projects focus on problem-making and -solving in hackathons and on the materialization of new forms of aesthetics in art-based virtual reality (VR).

Concrete forms of research engagement include the involvement in the design processes of recommender systems in the Bavarian Broadcasting Company (BR), the active participation in the unfolding of problems and solutions during Hackathons, and the collaboration with artists in the creation of VR-based artworks.

Fast Facts

2015
Year of foundation
7
Researchers
7
Projects

Events

News

News

Digital Media Lab

Willkommen im Digital Media Lab! Unser Post/Doc-Lab am Munich Center for Technology in Society integriert Ansätze aus den Bereichen Science and Technology Studies, Informatik, Soziologie, Wissenschaftsphilosophie und Medienwissenschaft. Unser Ziel ist es, Digitalisierungsprozesse in verschiedenen Bereichen der Gesellschaft theoretisch und empirisch zu untersuchen, Initiativen und Projekte zur Digitalisierung fachlich und wissenschaftlich zu unterstützen und alternative Wege für eine demokratische und verantwortungsvolle Gestaltung solcher Prozesse zu finden.

Auf der Grundlage von materiellen und relationalen Forschungsansätzen begreifen wir Digitalisierung als fortwährende Verflechtungen verschiedener Akteure, Praktiken, Technologien, Regulierungen und Kulturen. Mittels eines breiten Instrumentariums qualitativer Methoden, einschließlich ethnographischer Ansätze, Codeanalyse und Mappings, untersuchen wir unterschiedliche Themen entlang der Leitmotive von Infrastruktur, Kontrolle und Kreativität:

Erstens untersuchen wir Digitalisierung im Hinblick auf Infrastrukturen und versuchen zu verstehen, wie zahlreiche unterschiedliche lokale Orte und Praktiken in großtechnische Systeme integriert werden. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit europäischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkplattformen und mit europäischem Migrations- und Grenzmanagement.

Zweitens untersuchen wir digitalisierte Formen von Governance, Kontrolle und Widerstand. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit algorithmischer Zurechenbarkeit und epistemischer Transparenz in der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI), prädikativen Analyseverfahren in Recommender Systemen und in der Polizeiarbeit sowie mit Datenschutz und Privatsphäre im Zeitalter von Big Data.

Drittens analysieren wir die Entwicklung neuer Formen von Kreativität im Zuge der Auseinandersetzung mit digitalen Technologien. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit dem Erzeugen und Lösen von Problemstellungen in Hackathons und mit der Materialisierung neuer Formen der Ästhetik in der kunstbasierten Virtual Reality (VR).

Konkrete Formen des Forschungsengagements umfassen die Beteiligung an der Gestaltung von Empfehlungssystemen beim Bayerischen Rundfunk (BR), die aktive Beteiligung an der Entwicklung von Problemstellungen und Lösungsansätzen im Rahmen von Hackathons sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern bei der Schaffung von VR-basierten Kunstwerken.

Events

News

News