The MCTS

We are building a new center in the field of Science & Technology Research – the Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS)!

TechnoScienceStudies

Research and innovation create a steady stream of new technologies that enter societies which are already highly technologized. For this reason, we at MCTS focus on investigating the contemporary technosciences (e.g. the life sciences and engineering) and their interactions with societies that that can increasingly be described as TechnoSocieties.

Integrative Research

To achieve this goal, our interdisciplinary collaborations bring together social scientists, historians, philosophers, life scientists and engineers. Research at MCTS focuses on well-established fields at TUM such as energy, robotics, or mobility as well as on large-scale issues related to risk, non-knowledge, or digitization.

Outreach & Learning Opportunities

MCTS research groups create opportunities for dialogue with the public, policymakers, and business stakeholders through events such as lectures, theme days, and expert workshops (MCTS Forum). The MCTS also offers graduate-level academic programs (Master's, Graduate Center) and courses that are open to TUM students of all disciplines (WTG@MCTS).

All MCTS activities reflect our guiding principles: empirical – interdisciplinary – reflexive – dialogic.

Das MCTS

Wir bauen ein neues Zentrum im Feld der Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung – das Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS)

TechnoScienceStudies

Forschung und Innovation bringen immer wieder neue Technologien hervor – und dies geschieht in bereits umfassend technologisierten Gesellschaften. Am MCTS interessieren wir uns deshalb insbesondere für die modernen Technowissenschaften (z.B. Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences ...) und für ihre Wechselwirkungen mit Gesellschaften, die sich zunehmend als TechnoSocieties beschreiben lassen.

Integrative Research

Dabei kooperieren SozialwissenschaftlerInnen, HistorikerInnen und PhilosophInnen mit Natur- und TechnikwissenschaftlerInnen. Ihre Forschung orientiert sich sowohl an den Arbeitsfeldern der TUM wie Energie, Robotik oder Mobilität als auch an systema­tischen Fragen zu Risiko, Nichtwissen oder Digitalisierung.

Dialog und Lehre

In Vorträgen, Themen-Tagen, ExpertInnen-Workshops und anderen Veranstaltungen suchen die Forschungsgruppen des MCTS den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit, Politik und Wirtschaft (MCTS Forum). Darüber hinaus bietet das MCTS fachwissenschaftliche Studien- und Promotionsprogramme (Master, Graduiertenzentrum) sowie fachübergreifende Lehrveranstaltungen für die TUM-Studierenden (WTG@MCTS).

Das Prinzip aller Aktivitäten am MCTS ist: empirisch – interdisziplinär – reflexiv – dialogisch.